Lynyrd Skynyrd – Second Helping 

Can you track your faults in life with music?  So many of my misjudgements have a soundtrack.  

I was 16 years old with my first car, a red 1991 Volkswagen Jetta, and I had found Second Helping on cassette.  I literally wore that tape out by playing it so much and my car reflected my obsession.  A confederate flag was prominently featured on the front bumper of my car, there was a confederate flag No Fear sticker on the back windshield, and a CB radio antenna on the trunk lid.  I was the pride of Rome, GA.  When I hear Second Helping I can help but die a little inside from embarrassment.

However, I still love this album.


This record is one of the finest examples of a Southern rock record.  It is guitar-laden rock ‘n roll with a country twang and parts of this album are heavier than you remember.  Lynyrd Skynyrd could seriously jam.

Second Helping is a balanced country rock album.  It flows from straight country to heavy 70s rock to swampy blues and does it all with a thick Southern drawl.  This very album could be released today and sound relevant and new. 



Second Helping is a classic for a reason and should be a part of your collection if you are even the least bit a fan of country or Southern rock.

Smoke a joint and drink cheap beer while listening to Second Helping.

My favorite track: I Need You


Leave a Reply

