JP Harris – Why Don’t We Duet In The Road 

If a pretty girl tells me to do something, I will probably do it.  Nikki Lane tweeted about this four song collection a while back and said, and I am paraphrasing, that people who like good music should preorder it.  So, I did.  

I like Nikki Lane (who is a bad ass) and I am familiar with JP Harris, but I had to google the other women in this four song set.  I discovered that Leigh Nash is the name of the girl from Sixpence None the Richer, Kelsey Watson is a relatively new country artist from Kentucky, and Kristina Murray is pretty much an unknown who happens to sound amazing.  


The four songs on the two 45rpms that make up Why Don’t We Duet In The Road are as classic as classic country music can get.  And, JP Harris treats these songs with respect.  He doesn’t try to reinvent the wheel and he doesn’t try to impersonate Conway or Cash or Porter or George Jones; he is his own man with his own sound.

JP Harris has an extraordinarily unique voice that I can only explain as an amalgamation of different artists.  It is a little bit of Junior Brown, Conway Twitty, Johnny Cash, and that guy with the deep voice from Crash Test Dummies all mixed together. 


If you are a fan of cover songs and classic country, buy this set. 

Leave a Reply

