Gary Clark Jr. – Church + The Healing 

Do you get suckered into Record Store Day limited releases?  Maybe “suckered” is not the right word; maybe I am looking for “roped in.”  Do you get roped into Record Store Day limited releases?  I know that the majority of Record Store Day and Record Store Day Black Friday limited releases are marketing gimmicks, but I just cannot keep myself from buying them.  

Church + The Healing is a 10″ vinyl single that I bought on Black Friday.  I did not seek out this record; I flipped past it in the bin and thought “I kind of like Gary Clark Jr.,” so I bought it.  I paid $16.99 for an EP with two songs on it and I ain’t even mad.

This is not blues-virtuoso-Gary Clark Jr., this is soulful-take-you-to-church-Gary Clark Jr.  These two songs are worth $16.99 and more.  


If Gary Clark Jr. could not play guitar he could still make it in the music business as a vocalist.  His voice is smooth, powerful, and full of soul and Church + The Healing allows his voice to shine.  These two songs are just him, his voice, and a guitar on stage and they are outstanding.

If the pain of Church does not make you tear up just a little and hope that Jesus himself will come down and help this poor guy out, you might want to check your pulse.  

I don’t think this was an extremely popular Record Store Day Black Friday release, so do yourself a favor and go down to your local store because I’ll bet that they still have a copy.  

Leave a Reply

