Ray Campi & His Rockabilly Rebels – Born To Rock

What are your goals when it comes to buying and collecting vinyl?  Do you want an extensive collection of first pressings? Do you seek out foreign versions of your favorites?  Do you try to have complete discographies?  Or do you just want to own good music?  My goal is morbid, but it is 100% the truth: I want to have a collection so vast and diverse that the estate sale held after I die will be a destination for music fans.

I randomly picked up Born to Rock for $10 while visiting my grandparents in Orlando (Rock and Roll Heaven is a fantastic store).  I bought it specifically because the cover looks like these guys put on a hell of a show.  Seriously, how fun do they look?


It was when I was looking up the album to add it to my collection on Discogs that I learned of the magnitude of talent held in the wax.  Apparently, Ray Campi is “The King of Rockabilly” and a member of the Rockabilly Hall of Fame.  I thought I was buying a cheap unknown album for the fun of it and instead I was pleasantly surprised to find that I bought an LP recorded by a musical great.


Born to Rock jams.  From beginning to end this album is fun and it sounds exactly as you think it should because it is the quintessential Rockabilly album.  Born to Rock is full of covers of songs you know with even more attitude and rock mixed into them.

Ray Campi’s vocals could be used as the template for a Rockabilly singer.  You know that vocal flange of the early Elvis recordings at Sun?  Also Jerry Lee, Brian Setzer, and the good reverend, Reverend Horton Heat, plus so many more?  Ray Campi is the master of that technique.

I love the fact that this album is from 1977.  It would fit in during the mid-50s and now.  It truly is timeless music.  It is honky-tonkin’ hillbilly rock ‘n roll.  It is Rockabilly and it is loads of fun.


I do not pretend to know everything about music and music history.  That is why I loved learning about Ray Campi and this album.  I will always be on the lookout for more music from him from now on.

My favorite track: Get Rhythm/Folsom Prison Blues

Leave a Reply

