Shooter Jennings – The Other Life

Have you ever found yourself in a situation where instead of making a decision you respond with “just give me all of them”?  That happened to me when I saw Shooter Jennings; I couldn’t decide what album to buy, so I bought copies of all of the vinyl they had for sale.

Shooter Jennings is my spirit animal.  I am drawn to artists who speak out against the establishment; especially the Nashville country music establishment.  That attitude speaks to the issues I have with authority(a long story that starts in middle school with me telling the assistant principal that the zero-tolerance policy could go fuck itself).

The divide between radio country music and real country music is becoming wider and wider and there seems to be no end in sight for the pop-style radio country music being played.  However, with minimal effort at your local record store, you will find artists and albums that will satisfy your need.  The Other Life is one of those albums.


When you drop the needle on this album you are greeted by a trippy Pink Floyd style song that flows into the familiar country sound.  Musically, The Other Life is country as country gets.  Lyrically, this album is a little dark and heavy and it totally works.


So, grab a beer, put this record on your turntable, and tell the Nashville establishment to stick it.

My favorite track: The Gunslinger

Visit the Blood For Vinyl store

Leave a Reply

