The Highwaymen – Live at Nassau Coliseum 

Do you ever wish that you could go back in time and slap your younger self?  

I want to go back and grab a hold of the younger me and give myself a good shake and a slap in the face for not respecting the music that was being made at the time.  Live at Nassau Coliseum was recorded in March of 1990.  That means that I was 9 years old and living in Murfreesboro, TN (not far from Nashville).  I’m sure that The Highwaymen played Nashville on this tour and I’m sure that if I had asked to go that my parents would have taken me to the show.

If only I could have respected the music…..


Live at Nassau Coliseum is a snapshot of the greatest country supergroup to ever grace the stage.  Waylon, Willie, Johnny Cash, and Kris Kristofferson are all in their late 50s and they’re past a lot of the bullshit in their lives.  This album is four legends having fun and playing music.  

This album is essentially a greatest hits album from the four Highwaymen.  They each take turns playing their own songs, joining in on the other’s songs, and singing the songs they released together.


Seriously, this album is hit after hit after hit of real, true country music.  If you have ever said “I can’t stand the crap that is on country radio these days,” you need to own this album.

Can you tell that I love it?


Amazon had the clear vinyl version on special during their recent Prime Day sale.

This will become a regular spin for me.  

My favorite track: Sunday Morning Coming Down 



Leave a Reply

