Creedence Clearwater Revival – Pendulum 

Do you ever get together with friends and talk music?  Do you ever find yourself lost when they start talking about a very well known band, but you really don’t know much about them?  Can you admit it when that happens or do you just nod and go along with it?

I’ll be honest and say that I usually just go along with the conversation.  I can BS my way through just about anything without knowing many details.  It is a skill that I learned in high school and have honed during my career in radio.

Creedence Clearwater Revival is one of those bands that I would just go along with because, if I am being honest with myself and with you, I don’t really know much of their music.  This is a realization that I had while flipping through the used vinyl bin at my local record store.  I saw this album and thought to myself “Hey! I love CCR!”  But, all I know from them is the hits.  I’ve even seen John Fogerty live in concert, but I only know the hits.  They are such an iconic band and have so many truly famous songs that it is easy to forget that those hits are from records that have more album tracks than hit songs.

So, I picked up Pendulum in hopes of improving my knowledge about one of the greatest bands of all time.

This album is less of the swamp music sound that is associated with Creedence Clearwater Revival and is more of a soulful jam band sound. The horns featured on this album sound like they are straight out of Motown, while the organs are very reminiscent of The Animals and can even be a little psychedelic.

John Fogerty’s voice is so identifiable that you immediately know it is him singing even if you don’t know the song, but a most of the album tracks on Pendulum do not sound like the CCR songs you know from movie soundtracks or Chronicle.  Even though this album is 46 years old it is fun to listen to a world famous band play songs I have never heard.

My favorite track: (Wish I Could) Hideaway


 https://youtu.be/7R_NpTWxlqg

Visit the Blood For Vinyl store

Leave a Reply

