Darkthrone – Transilvanian Hunger

Have you ever had the desire to eat a baby?  Hold a Satanic ritual?  Go on a murderous rampage after sitting in 5 o’clock traffic?  

I think I found your soundtrack.


Transilvanian Hunger is one of those albums that I would never consider buying if I was paying with my own money, but since I’m using plasma donation money I figured that I would take a chance on it.  

I’m not a fan of Cookie Monster-style black metal, but I want to expand my horizons. My thought when buying it was “maybe I’ll be able to think of a time in my life when this music will feel appropriate.”

Well, I don’t know if I will have any experience where I will feel like spinning Norwegian Black Metal consistently, but I will let you know.  


As I listen I try to think objectively.  Darkthrone’s musicianship on Transilvanian Hunger is outstanding.  There is a lot of sound coming out of the speakers.  It is coherent and I would imagine it is difficult to play, especially since the band is just two guys.  

The vocals on the other hand are lacking for me.  Granted they are speaking Norwegian, but I have trouble getting into the Cookie Monster-style used in black metal.  

If you like lo-fi, raw, make your grandma say a prayer for you black metal.  Then you should buy this album.  As for me, I think this album will live on the shelf.  At least until my in-laws come over to visit and I need to run them off…….

Leave a Reply

