Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit – Here We Rest

You know the guy at the office that everyone loves?  He’ll go to lunch with you, stay late and help you work on a project, buy you a Coke from the vending machine, and help you move on a Saturday.  He is just a great guy.  I imagine that Jason Isbell is that guy; he is super nice, but has some sad stories to share if you really dig deep.

I own an few Jason Isbell albums and I consider myself a fan.  I could listen to this guy sing the phone book.

  
I can’t put my finger on it, but Here We Rest seems to be more country than the other Isbell albums I have.  Especially the fiddle-driven Codeine; that song is country as hell.  

That is not a bad thing.  Not at all.

  
Jason Isbell is one hell of a storyteller.  He paints beautifully sad scenes with his verses and creates heartbreaking characters with his choruses.  You can listen passively or actively and enjoy Here We Rest.
  

As country as this album is, it is also very bluesy.  Here We Rest is a sippin’ a cold beer on the front porch kind of album.  

My favorite track: Stopping By


Leave a Reply

