Willie Nelson – City of New Orleans

You know how you hear a song and your mind is transported back to a different time?

As soon as I drop the needle on this album and hear the title track I am in Murfreesboro, TN and sitting in the front seat of my mom’s car as we leave Dairy Queen with a milkshake.  It is as vivid as ever in my mind.  

  
Even though I’ve known of City of New Orleans for more than 30 years, today is the first time that I’ve ever listened to the album in its entirety.  

It is a sad record.  She’s Out of My Life, Good Time Charlie’s Got the Blues, Until It’s Time for You to Go, Cry……..I seriously had to grab a beer before the first side was over.  

  
Do you love sad country music like I do?  Then, City of New Orleans is a must-have album for you.  

Very few artists can sing a sad song like Willie Nelson can.

My favorite track: She’s Out of My Life

Leave a Reply

