The Dillinger Escape Plan with Mike Patton – irony is a dead scene

The Dillinger Escape Plan is one of those bands that I’ve heard of, but never actually heard.  So, when I saw this EP featured Mike Patton (a guy that I think is an absolute genius) I had to own it.
  
When I first dropped the needle my turntable was set on 33 1/3 rpm.  I had no idea what was going on or if it was the right setting.  Seriously, the metal on this album is so fast and Mike Patton’s voice is so versatile that I was momentarily confused.  

However, I changed it to 45rpm and began to enjoy the hardcore math-rock that I’ve heard of for years.
  

This isn’t an EP that I’ll put on to relax.  This is an EP that I’ll put on when I want to hear a vocal genius/madman do his thing alongside speed metal mixed with ethereal tones.  
  
When Good Dogs Do Bad Things is an excellent example of the dichotomy of sounds on this album.

irony is a dead scene will make it to my turntable on very specific occasions.  

Was my downstairs neighbor blasting trap music until the wee hours of the morning?  

Do I need to chase a spider on the wall with a fly-swatter?  

Am I furiously chopping a salad? 

It’s not my favorite piece of vinyl that I own, but it is well worth a listen and a nice addition to my collection.

Leave a Reply

