Pistol Annies – Hell on Heels

I’ve heard this album 100 times or more because it came out almost 4 years ago, but when I saw it at my local record store (Comeback Vinyl) I had to own it.

  

It’s real country music.  Storytelling, heart wrenching, take-no-shit-off-of-nobody music.
  

And, it doesn’t hurt that I have a serious love affair with anything that Miranda Lambert is a part of.  
  
Hell on Heels could have very well been recorded by Loretta Lynn, Tammy Wynette, or Dolly Parton.  

I’m worried that I sound cliché, but it is all true; modern pop country music is really terrible.  However, it is nice when a modern country star is part of an album like this because it introduces fans of shitty pop country to the sounds reminiscent of the heyday of the Grand Ole Opry.  

My favorite track: Trailer For Rent

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Dude, thanks for the shout!

    Like

Leave a Reply

